Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

September 18, 2015

Ms. Sylvia Murray
Director, South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice
Post Office Box 21069
Columbia, South Carolina 29221-1069

Dear Director Murray:

Thank you and your staff for taking time out of your busy schedule to meet with me on Thursday, September 17, 2015, to discuss additional issues related to the agency, including its budget and potential areas for increased efficiency and effectiveness. Again, the end goal of legislative oversight is to evaluate how the Department of Juvenile Justice is striving to continually improve its outcomes and efficiency. Also, I look forward to receiving and sharing with my colleagues the additional information you agreed to provide:

- A list of programs which may be curtailed, eliminated, or transferred to another agency so as to increase the agency's overall effectiveness and efficiency.
- Information from fiscal year 2010-11 to the present that indicates the number served in each agency service and the annual cost per individual served.

Your continued cooperation in the legislative oversight process is appreciated. The Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Subcommittee looks forward to assisting the agency in its plans to improve its efficiency and outcomes.

Sincepely,



Kirkman Finlay III Subcommittee Chair

ce: The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton The Honorable Rave Felder

The Honorable William K. Bowers
The Honorable Edward R. Tallon Sr.